Voter registration deadline extended to Wednesday, October 19th, 2016 in Beaufort County due to Hurricane Matthew

    Friday, Oct. 14, 2016    PATRICK GANNON, PIO 
    (919) 715-1790; e-mail:

    Court Extends Voter Registration in 36 Counties

    RALEIGH, N.C. — Within the past hour, Wake County Superior Court Judge Donald Stephens ordered that the regular voter registration deadline be extended until close of business on Wednesday (October 19) in 36 counties receiving assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency in the wake of Hurricane Matthew.

    “Our agency appreciates Judge Stephens’ thoughtful consideration of this matter and will fully comply with his order,” said Kim Westbrook Strach, State Board executive director.

    The deadline extension will be in effect in the following counties:

    Beaufort County, Bertie County, Bladen County, Brunswick County, Camden County, Carteret Count, Chowan County, Columbus County, Craven County, Cumberland County, Currituck County, Dare County, Duplin County, Edgecombe County, Gates County, Greene County, Harnett County, Hoke County, Hyde County, Johnston County, Jones County, Lenoir County, Nash County, New Hanover County, Onslow County, Pamlico County, Pasquotank County, Pender County, Perquimans County, Pitt County, Robeson County, Sampson County, Tyrrell County, Washington County, Wayne County, and Wilson County.

    In the other 64 counties, the regular voter registration deadline ends today. Would-be voters may still register and vote at the same time during the 17-day early voting period, which begins Thursday (October 20) and runs through November 5.  

    Same-day registration is available during the three-week period after the regular registration deadlines,” Strach said.  “We encourage those displaced by Hurricane Matthew to take advantage of same-day registration opportunities throughout their county.”

    For more information on how to register to vote, click HERE.