

2014 GENERAL

Election Date: 11/04/2014

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **BEAUFORT** County on **11/04/2014**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m.** on the day before Election Day. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at www.NCSBE.gov. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at www.FVAP.gov A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (uocava.absentee@sboe.state.nc.us).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests only. Please contact your local <u>board of elections</u> to confirm your party affiliation or voter registration status.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on military-overseas absentee voting.

NC State Board of Elections August 2014

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/04/2014)

BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/04/2014)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
US SENA	ΓE		
	THOMAS TILLIS	Thom Tillis	REP
	JANET HAGAN	Kay Hagan	DEM
	SEAN HAUGH	Sean Haugh	LIB
US HOUS 01	E OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST	RICT	
	ARTHUR RICH	Arthur Rich	REP
	GEORGE BUTTERFIELD	G. K. Butterfield	DEM
US HOUS 03	E OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST	RICT	
	WALTER JONES	Walter Jones	REP
	MARSHALL ADAME	Marshall Adame	DEM
NC STATE	SENATE DISTRICT 01		
	WILLIAM COOK	Bill Cook	REP
	STANFORD WHITE	Stan M. White	DEM
NC HOUS 003	E OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST	RICT	
	MICHAEL SPECIALE	Michael Speciale	REP
	ROBERT WHITLEY	Whit Whitley	DEM
NC HOUS 006	E OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST		
	MATTIE LAWSON	Mattie Lawson	REP
	PAUL TINE	Paul Tine	DEM
DISTRICT	ATTORNEY DISTRICT 02		
	SETH EDWARDS	Seth Edwards	DEM
BEAUFOR COMMISS	T COUNTY BOARD OF IONERS		
	RONALD BUZZEO	Ron Buzzeo	REP
	KEITH KIDWELL	Keith Kidwell	REP
	FRANK WATERS	Frankie Waters	REP
	EDWIN BOOTH	Ed Booth	DEM
	ROBERT CAYTON	Robert B. Cayton	DEM
BEAUFOR COURT	T COUNTY CLERK OF SUPERI	OR	
	JAMES SHIVER	Jimbo Shiver	REP
	VAN PARAMORE	Marty Paramore	DEM
	EVA BUCK	Eva M. Buck	UNA
BEAUFOR	T COUNTY SHERIFF		
	ERNEST COLEMAN	Ernie Coleman	REP
	AL WHITNEY	Al J. Whitney	DEM
NC SUPRI (PARKER)	EME COURT CHIEF JUSTICE		
	MARK MARTIN	Mark Martin	
	OLA LEWIS	Ola M. Lewis	

BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/04/2014)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
NC SUPREMI (MARTIN)	E COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE		
	ROBERT HUNTER	Bob Hunter	
	SAMUEL ERVIN	Sam J. Ervin IV	
NC SUPREMI (HUDSON)	E COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE		
	ERIC LEVINSON	Eric Levinson	
	ROBIN HUDSON	Robin Hudson	
NC SUPREMI (BEASLEY)	E COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE		
	MICHAEL ROBINSON	Mike Robinson	
	CHERI BEASLEY	Cheri Beasley	
NC COURT O	F APPEALS JUDGE (MARTIN)		
	MARION WARREN	Marion Warren	
	CHARLES WINFREE	Chuck Winfree	
	JOHN TYSON	John M. Tyson	
	ELIZABETH SCOTT	Elizabeth Davenport Scott	
	PATRICIA SHIELDS	Tricia Shields	
	JOSEPH NEWSOME	Jody Newsome	
	HOMER MARTIN	Marty Martin	
	JEFFREY MURPHY	Hunter Murphy	
	KEISCHA LOVELACE	Keischa Lovelace	
	ANN KIRBY	Ann Kirby	
	ABRAHAM JONES	Abe Jones	
	SABRA FAIRES	Sabra Jean Faires	
	DANIEL DONAHUE	Daniel Patrick Donahue	
	JOHN DONOVAN	J. Brad Donovan	
	LORI CHRISTIAN	Lori G. Christian	
	JEFFREY COOK	Jeffrey M. Cook	
	ELIZABETH BUNTING	Betsy Bunting	
	JOHN ARROWOOD	John S. Arrowood	
	VALERIE ZACHARY	Valerie Johnson Zachary	
NC COURT O	F APPEALS JUDGE (HUNTER)		
	WILLIAM SOUTHERN	Bill Southern	
	LUCY INMAN	Lucy Inman	
NC COURT O	OF APPEALS JUDGE (STROUD)		
	DONNA STROUD	Donna Stroud	
NC COURT O	OF APPEALS JUDGE (DAVIS)		
	PAUL HOLCOMBE	Paul Holcombe	
	MARK DAVIS	Mark Davis	
NC DISTRICT (CAYTON)	COURT JUDGE DISTRICT 02		
	DARRELL CAYTON	Darrell B. Cayton, Jr.	
NC DISTRICT (PARKER)	COURT JUDGE DISTRICT 02		
	REGINA PARKER	Regina Rodgers Parker	
BEAUFORT (DISTRICT 2	COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION	N	

ETHEL PEED E.C. Peed

BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/04/2014)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY			
BEAUFORT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 4	ON				
TERRY WILLIAMS	Terry Williams				
BEAUFORT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 6					
MICHAEL BILBRO	Michael Bilbro				
BEAUFORT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 8					
FERNIE OLIVER	Butch Oliver				

BEAUFORT SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT SUPERVISOR

JAMES ALLEN James Allen
CRAWFORD MANN C.A. (Lex) Mann

CHOICE	DESCRIPTION			
NC CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT				
For	Constitutional amendment providing that a person accused of any criminal offense for which the State is not seeking a sentence of death in superior court may, in writing or on the record in court and with the consent of the trial judge, waive the person's right to a trial by jury.			
Against	Constitutional amendment providing that a person accused of any criminal offense for which the State is not seeking a sentence of death in superior court may, in writing or on the record in court and with the consent of the trial judge, waive the person's right to a trial by jury.			