

### **2014 PRIMARY**

**Election Date: 05/06/2014** 

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **BEAUFORT** County on **05/06/2014**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.** 

### **Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:**

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m.** on the day before Election Day. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at <a href="https://www.NCSBE.gov">www.NCSBE.gov</a>. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at <a href="https://www.FVAP.gov">www.FVAP.gov</a> A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (<a href="https://www.absentee@sboe.state.nc.us">www.absentee@sboe.state.nc.us</a>).

#### Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests only. Please contact your local <u>board of elections</u> to confirm your party affiliation or voter registration status.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on military-overseas absentee voting.

NC State Board of Elections March 2014

# Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/06/2014)

## **BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/06/2014)**

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
US SENAT	E		
	THOMAS TILLIS	Thom Tillis	REP
	JAMES SNYDER	Jim Snyder	REP
	EDWARD KRYN	Edward Kryn	REP
	MARK HARRIS	Mark Harris	REP
	HEATHER GRANT	Heather Grant	REP
	ALEX BRADSHAW	Alex Lee Bradshaw	REP
	GREGORY BRANNON	Greg Brannon	REP
	WILLIAM ALEXANDER	Ted Alexander	REP
	WILLIAM STEWART	Will Stewart	DEM
	ERNEST REEVES	Ernest T. Reeves	DEM
	JANET HAGAN	Kay Hagan	DEM
	SEAN HAUGH	Sean Haugh	LIB
	TIMOTHY D'ANNUNZIO	Tim D'Annunzio	LIB
US HOUSE 01	E OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR	ICT	
	JOHN SHYPULEFSKI	Brent Shypulefski	REP
	ARTHUR RICH	Arthur Rich	REP
	DANIEL-LYNN WHITTACRE	Dan Whittacre	DEM
	GEORGE BUTTERFIELD	G. K. Butterfield	DEM
US HOUSE 03	OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR	ICT	
	ALBIN NOVINEC	Al (Big Al) Novinec	REP
	WALTER JONES	Walter Jones	REP
	WILLIAM GRIFFIN	Taylor Griffin	REP
NC STATE	SENATE DISTRICT 01		
	STANFORD WHITE	Stan M. White	DEM
	JUDY KRAHENBUHL	Judy Krahenbuhl	DEM
NC HOUSI	E OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR	ICT	
	ASHLEY WOOLARD	Ashley Woolard	REP
	MATTIE LAWSON	Mattie Lawson	REP
BOARD O	F COMMISSIONERS		
	FRANK WATERS	Frankie Waters	REP
	KEITH KIDWELL	Keith Kidwell	REP
	WILLIAM DEATHERAGE	Stan Deatherage	REP
	DONALD COX	Don Cox	REP
	RONALD BUZZEO	Ron Buzzeo	REP
SHERIFF			
	HARRY MEREDITH	Harry Meredith	REP
	RICKY GUTHRIE	Rick Guthrie	REP
	GEORGE DIXON	Donald Dixon	REP
	ERNEST COLEMAN	Ernie Coleman	REP
	AL WHITNEY	Al J. Whitney	DEM
	VALIANT SCALES	Val Scales	DEM

## **BEAUFORT BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/06/2014)**

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
RUSSELL DAVENPORT	Russell Davenport	DEM
GARY BLOUNT	Gary W. Blount	DEM
MILES ALLIGOOD	Todd Alligood	DEM

# SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE (HUDSON)

ERIC LEVINSON Eric Levinson

ROBIN HUDSON Robin Hudson

JEANETTE DORAN Jeanette Doran